Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



SEAT Pro Netanya calls Lay Day: All eyes on Saturday launch



SEAT Pro Netanya

Competitors will have some time to rest before hitting the Mediterranean

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 11 January, 2018 - The SEAT Pro Netanya pres. by Reef's event window started today with a lay day. Conditions at Kontiki beach didn’t offer much swell so event organizers called Thursday off, as well as Friday. The forecast shows much-improved conditions for Saturday, with a potential two-to-three foot swell and low winds in the morning.

“We knew today wouldn’t offer any kind of surf here at Kontiki so it’s no surprise that we’re calling today off,” Rob Gunning, WSL Europe Tour Manager stated. “A lot of surfers have only just arrived in Israel so it will give them a little time to adjust and rest before we start. A storm is moving in in the next few days with lots of swell so hopefully we can find moments of lighter winds to start in good surf.”

The SEAT Pro Netanya pres. by Reef is the first event on the men’s 2018 Qualifying Series, counting for the European regional rankings. 92 surfers from all seven regions of the WSL have gathered in Netanya, thirty kilometers North of Tel Aviv, for the third edition of the Israeli event.

Event officials and surfers will reconvene early Saturday morning for a potential start of the event.

Heat 1: Wesley Leite (BRA), Ariel Sanin (ISR), Diego Suarez Diaz (CNY)
Heat 2: Luke Dillon (GBR), Arran Strong (GBR), Elya Sasi (ISR), Roni Sheyngard (ISR)
Heat 3: Kiron Jabour (HAW), Pedro Nogueira (BRA), Moshe Perez (ISR), Steven Levenson (ITA)
Heat 4: Arne Bergwinkl (DEU), Frederico Magalhaes (PRT), Francisco Duarte (PRT), Daniel Klein (ISR)
Heat 5: Kelly Norris (AUS), Pedro Coelho (PRT), Yoni Klein (ISR), Oshri Kashi (ISR)
Heat 6: Marc Lacomare (FRA), Ignacio Guisasola (ESP), Ido Arkin (ISR), Aviv Vaknin (ISR)
Heat 7: Matthew McGillivray (ZAF), David Noy (ISR), Adi Gluska (ISR), Dor Bitton (ISR)
Heat 8: Alex Maniatis (GRC), Ruben Gonzalez (PRT), Dudu Bitton (ISR), Jason Torres (CRI)
Heat 9: Luis Perloiro (PRT), Benjamin Hucker (AUS), Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK), Tal Maymon (ISR)
Heat 10: Jonathan Gonzalez (CNY), Remi Petersen (NLD), Gal Zinger (ISR), Francisco Almeida (PRT)
Heat 11: Nomme Mignot (FRA), Pablo Montero (ESP), Vladimir Merlis (ISR)
Heat 12: Dylan Christensen (USA), Henrique Pyrrait (PRT), Zur Arkin (ISR), Dov Jacobovitz (ISR)
Heat 13: Eduardo Fernandes (PRT), Francisco Carrasco (PRT), Caina Souza Da Silva (BRA), Tal Asayag (ISR)
Heat 14: Miguel Pupo (BRA), Enzo Poulat (FRA), Idan Meshulam (ISR), Elem Ben Zvi (ISR)
Heat 15: Eithan Osborne (USA), Ely Cassirer (ISR), Gil Zilka (ISR), Eran Herzog (ISR)
Heat 16: Jose Gundesen (ARG), Vitor Ferreira (BRA), Reef Shahaf (ISR), Amir Rafaeli (ISR)


Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter