Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Las Americas Pro Tenerife sleeps in today, eyes tradeswell



Las Americas Pro Tenerife

Small northerly trade swell is the main source of surf first couple of days

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 29 January, 2018 - Las Americas, Tenerife - Event officials have called a Lay-Day at the Las Americas Pro Tenerife, Stop No. 2 on the World Surf League (WSL) European Qualifying Series.

The lack of swell on offer on the opening day of the event’s waiting period left no choice but to call competition off for the day in Las Americas. A difficult forecast could potentially have organizers of the event look at a back-up setup in the Arona council, the southern tip of the island of Tenerife.

“We had leftovers of the previous swell yesterday and our surfers got a few waves to warm up,” Rob Gunning, WSL Europe Tour Manager stated. “Unfortunately it has completed disappeared today so we had to call a lay day. Looking ahead we have four days of potential for good waves so we’ll monitor the forecasts and make a decision on when and where to run.”

MagicSeaWeed gave a first overview of the conditions on hand for the week: Older NNW swell will be easing opening day. Small northerly trade swell is the main source of surf first couple of days of the event window. Northerly trade swell/small NW swell mix through midweek. A little stronger Northerly trade swell is on the radar last few days of event window. Also some South Atlantic activity mixes in a long period but small S swell pulse.

Surfers and event officials will reconvene at 7:45 a.m Tuesday to reassess conditions at Las Americas.

Heat 1: Endika Garai (ESP), Juanjo Fernandez (ESP), Angus Scotney (GBR)
Heat 2: Christian Garcia (ESP), Alex Bauduin (CNY), Jason Torres (CRI), Pedro Nogueira (BRA)
Heat 3: Kalani Da Silva (CNY), Matias Rodriguez (CNY), Ignacio Guisasola (ESP)
Heat 4: Noah Biersack (GBR), Lucas Guichard (NOR), Enzo Poulat (FRA)
Heat 5: Tomas Zarra (ESP), David Garcia (ESP), Remi Petersen (NLD)
Heat 6: Will Bailey (GBR), Stephan De Torres Manni (FIN), Marc Lacomare (FRA)
Heat 7: Salvador Couto (PRT), Nicolas Giacomucci (ESP), Caina Souza Da Silva (BRA)
Heat 8: Carlos Marques (ESP), Luan Carvalho (BRA), Pablo Montero (ESP)
Heat 9: Simao Penha (PRT), Sebastian Brugmans (BEL), Dwight Pastrana (PRI)
Heat 10: Yael Pena (CNY), Miguel Castrillon (ESP), Jatyr Berasaluce (EUK)
Heat 11: Jose Maria de Paz (ESP), Paolo Giorgi (CNY), Lucas Vicente (BRA)
Heat 12: Fynnlee Miller-Cooley (GBR), Hodei Collazo (EUK), Diego Suarez Diaz (CNY)
Heat 13: Adur Amatriain (EUK), Juan Pedro Caceres Ferrer (ESP), David Noy (ISR)
Heat 14: Jakob Lilienweiss (DEU), Damian Caceres Alge (ESP), Eduardo Fernandes (PRT)
Heat 15: Gonçalo Vieira (PRT), Mirko Ivan Manduca (ESP), Francisco Duarte (PRT)
Heat 16: Manolo Pochiero (ITA), Cristian Portelli (SWE), Arran Strong (GBR)

Heat 1: Pauline Ado (FRA), Natasha Van Greunen (ZAF), Mariana Assis (PRT), Daniela Boldini (ESP)
Heat 2: Ariane Ochoa (EUK), Eliza Greene (AUS), Melania Diaz (CNY), Cannelle Bulard (REU)
Heat 3: Maud Le Car (FRA), Leticia Canales Bilbao (EUK), Laura Coviella (CNY), Lucia Machado (CNY)
Heat 4: Garazi Sanchez-Ortun (EUK), Lucia Martiño (ESP), Isabel Gundin (ESP), Laura De Los Reyes (CNY)
Heat 5: Carol Henrique (PRT), Yolander Hopkins (PRT), Leonor Fragoso (PRT), Sofia Ascanio (ESP)
Heat 6: Peony Knight (GBR), Neis Lartigue (FRA), Hannah Bristow (GBR), Marcela Machado (ESP)
Heat 7: Camilla Kemp (PRT), Ainara Aymat (EUK), Sara Urresti (EUK), Alexandra Rinder (AUT)
Heat 8: Mikaela Greene (AUS), Marion Philippe (PYF), Nina Reynal (FRA), Rosina Neuerer (DEU)



Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter