Sorry, your version of Internet Explorer is too old to view properly.

Why not try Chrome instead.



Former ISA World Champs win Tigers Milk Winter Classic



Tigers Milk Winter Classic

Surfing South Africa
Muizenberg, South Africa
9 - 11 June, 2017

Simone Robb and Matthew Moir win Tigers Milk Winter Classic titles in small Muizenberg surf

Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 12 June, 2017 - Former ISA World Champions Matthew Moir and Simone Robb showed their class in tiny Muizenberg surf Sunday when they won their respective Men’s and Womens Finals in the 2017 Tigers Milk Winter Classic, a WSL Speciality event.

The epic Men’s Longboard Final saw the four contestants giving a top class performance as they all posted high level scores in marginal surf. With just minutes to go defending champion Alfonso Peters held a narrow lead and looked certain to take his second title in a row but double World Champion never gave up and with just seconds to go caught the wave which gave him the lead and the title.

Moir won the 2015 Tigers Milk Classic but had to settle for second last year behind Peters. Both longboarders competed in a WSL World Championship event in Papua New Guinea a month or so ago. Tristan Lev was third in the final and Muizenberg local Nobel de Castro came fourth.

Robb, the defending Tigers Milk Women’s Division Champion, took command from the beginning of the Final and was well ahead when the siren sounded for the end of the heat. Shannon Hughes was second and Angela Craemer secured third place with Raylin Wynne taking fourth spot.

In a fitting climax to the Men’s surfing Division four local surfers featured in the Final. The final was included 2017 SA Team members Brandon Benjamin and Western Province surfers, Dillon Fernandez, Papi Makanyane and Paul Chudleigh.Event top seed Benjamin made a good start but in the end Fernandez took the honours. Makanyane was third and Chudleigh took fourth place.

Top ranked South Africa surfer Faye Zoetmulder won the Women’s Surfing title edging defending champion Tarryn Chuleigh into second place. Danielle Johnson came third and Natasha Van Greunen was fourth.

Michael grendon won the Over 40 Longboard Division with Gavin Moir taking second place ahead of SA Longboard President Paul O’ Connell. Whaldo de Kock was fourth. U23 Men’s and Women’s honours went to Dylan Swindale and Caroline Brown respectively while the SUP Men’s and Women’s champions were Nathan van Vuuren and Chelsea Van Rooyen.

Finalists shared R50000 in prize money and won product prizes from Mami Wata, the support sponsor for the event. A stoked William Stander, who entered the U23 Longboard division and was eliminated in Round One, won the beautifully crafted Mami Wati longboard shaped by Hugh Thompson.

Robin De Kock

Latest photos


Follow us and sign up to our daily newsletter